2021 EGR Operator Award Winners

2021 egr operator awards

The EGR Operator Awards for 2021 were held last Thursday evening.

It was an IRL event this year. There’s an acronym the world would have been better off never needing.

In Real Life, as apposed to digitally remote, the who’s who of the online attended this year’s award ceremony at Grosvenor House in London. Suited up (including pants), frocked up and no doubt for some alcohol filled up, it was an evening where glitz and glamour made a return to one of i-gaming’s night of nights.

Congrats to all the winners, and indeed those who were shortlisted.

Extra special congrats to the winners of the major categories. Because lets be honest – there are the prestigious categories, and then there are those not so hotly contested.

On the more prestigious side of things, 888 Casino were named Casino Operator of the Year.

On the shortlist for this award were a number of familiar names including:

Sports Betting Operator of the Year went to bet365. They beat out a shortlist also including the likes of LeoVegasMr Green, and Betsson as well as emerging powerhouses DraftKings, PointsBet and Pinnacle.

In addition to making practically every shortlist they were eligible for (including Operator of the Year),  LeoVegas did manage to win a category – Mobile Operator of the Year.

The coveted title of Operator of the Year went to Entain Group – owners of a bunch of  big brands including Bwin and Party Casino. The shortlist in this category was pretty much the top 10 of the ‘EGR Power 50 list’, namely:

  • 888 Holdings
  • bet365
  • Betsson Group
  • LeoVegas
  • DraftKings
  • Entain
  • Fortuna Entertainment Group
  • Gamesys Group
  • PointsBet
  • Rank Group
  • Sky Betting and Gaming (part of Flutter)
  • STS
  • Yolo Group

Pragmatic Play won the award for Game of the Year, for Gates of Olympus (not one of their live games). As headline sponsor of this year’s event, this could also have been named the Conflict of Interest award. As a lesser award perhaps no one bothered asking any questions.

On the topic of lesser awards, and new for 2021, was an award named: Diversity and Inclusion model. This award was won by Sky Betting and Gaming. Presumably they do not discriminate in any way – race, gender, sexual persuasion or handicap on who they allow to lose money on their betting services. Lets just hope they remember to discriminate based on age!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sorry....we have to ask *